Thursday, April 15, 2021

    Eight individual Group One winners among Bahrain International Trophy entries

    Quadruple Group One winner Barney Roy heads a stellar list of entries for the second running of the Bahrain International Trophy at Sakhir Racecourse on Friday 20th November.

    Barney Roy
    - Advertisement -

    There have been a total of 61 entries (up from 46 in 2019) from eight different nations: Britain (22), Ireland (14), France (9), Bahrain (6), UAE (6), Norway (2), Japan (1) and Germany (1).

    Globetrotting sensation Barney Roy has won four Group Ones in three different countries in his career to date and will be looking to add a fourth in Bahrain in November. His latest Group One at Baden-Baden took his career earnings past £1 million.

    His trainer Charlie Appleby said: “It’s a race we’ve been keen to support, and we feel that we’ve got the right horse in Barney Roy to take to Bahrain. He’s got a great profile leading into the race off the back of his Group One in Germany. He’s been shipped out to Dubai already and will continue his preparation there. We’re delighted to have the invitation from Bahrain, and we are thrilled to be able to support the race with a horse like Barney Roy.”

    Amongst the other seven Group One winners that have been entered, two brilliant mares in the shape of Billesdon Brook, a dual-Group One and Classic winner and the brilliant Japanese mare, Deirdreare notable entries.

    The remaining five Group One winners entered are: David O’Meara’s Lord Glitters, a winner of last year’s Group One Queen Anne Stakes at Royal Ascot, David Simcock’s Desert Encounter, a dual winner of the Group One Canadian International Stakes at Woodbine, Saeed bin Suroor’s Dream Castle, last year’s Group One Jebel Hatta winner, Fabrice Chappet’s Intellogent, the 2018 Group One Prix Jean Prat and finally, Roger Varian’s Zabeel Prince, who scored in the Group One Prix D’Ispahan last year.

    Global Giant

    British Champion trainer John Gosden finished second in the race last year with Turgenev and is bidding to go one better this year in the shape of Global Giant. The five-year-old is owned by HH Shaikh Isa Salman Al Khalifa, vice-chairman of Rashid Equestrian and Horseracing Club in Bahrain.

    Gosden said: “Global Giant’s in great form. It’s been the plan all year to go to the Bahrain International and we’ve been very happy with him.”

    “To have so many high-quality horses entered, from eight different countries, and an increase in class from our first year is very exciting,” said Shaikh Salman bin Rashed al Khalifa, Executive Director of the Rashid Equestrian & Horse Racing Club

    Sh. Salman bin Rashed Al Khalifa

    He continued: “The entries show the confidence trainers and owners have in Bahrain and our race. To have horses like Barney Roy, and Billesdon Brook and trainers like Aidan O’Brien, John Gosden and Charlie Appleby support the race is a huge boost for us. We are very hopeful that The Bahrain International Trophy will become a key date in the international racing calendar for many years to come.”

    Last year’s winner, Royal Julius, who ran in Sunday’s Group One Prix de L’Arc de Triomphe, has been entered by trainer Jerome Reynier who will be hoping he can repeat his success from last November.

    There is one more race that will grant “Automatic Invitation” to the winner even if that horse is not originally entered, and that takes place this Saturday at Newmarket in the Group Three Darley Stakes over 1 mile 1 furlong. 

    Six locally trained horses have been entered, with at least two guaranteed a space in the race.

    A maximum field of fourteen will go to post.

    Ancient Spirit (GER)5IREJ Harrington
    Anna Nerium (GB)5GBR Hannon
    Austin Powers (IRE)5BAHJ Ramadhan
    Bangkok (IRE)4GBA Balding
    Barney Roy (GB)6UAEC Appleby
    Bell Rock (GB)4GBA Balding
    Billesdon Brook (GB)5GBR Hannon
    Bless Him (IRE)6GBD Simcock
    Bowerman (GB)6IREA McGuiness
    Certain Lad (GB)4GBM Channon
    Chiefdom (USA)5UAES bin Ghadayer
    Coolagh Forest (IRE)4BAHH Ebrahim
    Cormorant (IRE)3IREA P O’Brien
    Dark Vision (IRE)4GBM Johnston
    Deirdre (JPN)6JAPM Hashida
    Desert Encounter (IRE)8GBD Simcock
    Desert Icon (FR)4GBW Haggas
    Dream Castle (GB)6UAES bin Suroor
    Fayez (IRE)6BAHH Al Dailami
    For The Top (ARG)5UAES bin Ghadayer
    Global Giant (GB)5GBJ Gosden
    Glycon (FR)4FRJ-C Rouget
    GM Hopkins (GB)9UAEJ Ramadhan
    Intellogent (IRE)5FRF Chappet
    Keats (IRE)3IREA P O’Brien
    Kenway (FR)3FRF Rossi
    Kick On (GB)4NORN Petersen
    Lancaster House (IRE)4IREA P O’Brien
    Laser Show (IRE)3UAES bin Suroor
    Les Vertus (FR)4FRF-H Graffard
    Lord Glitters (FR)7GBD O’Meara
    Made In Italy (IRE)3GBM Botti
    Matthew Flinders (GB)3GBE Walker
    Maydanny (IRE)4GBM Johnston
    Monument Valley (IRE)3IREA P O’Brien
    Mythical (FR)3IREA P O’Brien
    New World Tapestry (USA)3IREA P O’Brien
    Nobel Prize (IRE)3IREA P O’Brien
    Numen (IRE)3IREA P O’Brien
    Numerian (IRE)4IREJ O’Brien
    Ocean Atlantique (USA)3FRA Fabre
    Order Of Australia (IRE)3IREA P O’Brien
    Palavecino (FR)4GBB Meehan
    Pogo (IRE)4GBC Hills
    Port Lions (IRE)5BAHF Naas
    Quest The Moon (GER)4GERS Steinberg
    Raymond Tusk (IRE)5GBR Hannon
    Red Verdon (USA)7GBE Dunlop
    Royal Dornoch (IRE)3IREA P O’Brien
    Royal Julius (IRE)7FRJ Reynier
    Silence Please (IRE)3IREJ Harrington
    Silver Quartz (GB)5FRF-H Graffard
    Simsir (IRE)4BAHF Naas
    Sinjaari (IRE)4GBW Haggas
    Sir Busker (IRE)4GBW Knight
    Sky Defender (GB)4GBM Johnston
    Square De Luynes (FR)5NORN Petersen
    Tantpispoureux (IRE)4FRF-H Graffard
    Villa Rosa (FR)5FRH Devin
    What A Welcome (GB)6BAHH Alhaddad
    Zabeel Prince (IRE)7GBR Varian

    61 entries 

    22 British-trained

    14 Irish-trained 

    9 French-trained 

    6 UAE-trained 

    6 Bahrain-trained 

    2 Norwegian-trained 

    1 Japanese-trained 

    1 German-trained

    - Advertisement -